Am I the Asshole?

She Quit Her Gym Over Sexual Harassment. It Was Weak Sauce.

CJ Sterling
5 min readJan 25, 2023
Woman at gym lifting weights
Photo by Tony Woodhead on Unsplash

What happened to women’s voices?

I read a story here yesterday that made me so angry that I spit out my tea. Angry at the woman who wrote it, and at women who somehow have not learned to speak up for themselves.

Part of the fifth wave of feminism is that we are supposedly learning to speak up for ourselves. I don’t mean march in a pro-women rally, which we should. I don’t mean run for local and state political offices, or join boards in our communities, which we should. I don’t even mean teaching your boys and students what consent and respect means, for themselves, for women and others, which we should.

I mean literally use your VOICE.

Jade M. on Medium writes a lot about women’s issues, women getting harassed, and a recent article about a co-worker who took pictures of men without their permission in the workplace. Supporting men and men’s issues is one of the core tenants of fifth-wave feminism. I am not sure that Jade M. realizes she is part of the fifth-wave of feminism, which Medium author Natasha Garcha describes eloquently in this well-researched article.

So I was angry when I read Jade M.’s article published January 18th, titled “I Stopped Going to the Gym Because I Attracted

--

--

CJ Sterling

Writer, journalist. Commentary: Washington Post, Economist, Daily Beast, New York Times, Seattle Times, Crosscut, The Stranger. 22.5 million views, Quora.