SEATTLE NEIGHBORHOODS ALL HEAR MYSTERIOUS NOISE

Seattle Hears Mysterious Sounds

Seattle’s mysterious noises: a Nextdoor community’s quest to uncover the source of unidentified sounds

CJ Sterling
5 min readApr 26, 2023

--

What WAS that? Photo by Sahand khorshidi on Unsplash @sahandxo

I am super into my Nextdoor community. It started like everyone’s journey in their neighborhood Nextdoor — posts about lost cats, stray dogs, asks for recommendations for a reliable mechanic; arguments in the comments, reports of crime and a LOT of bitching. But I started being nice to all the haters, offering them peace, love and understanding. Over time, my Neighbors came out of their shells. I’m not so positive that is great. Soon, we were all Like Reply Share.

It started with a brand new Nextdoor neighbor coming on to complain about the content of our posts on Nextdoor, saying nobody was using it right, that Nextdoor was not for bitching. What?? Bitching is our main thing. Who was she, this newbie, to judge us?

She got piled on of course, then Byron (Cedar Park) changed the mood: “It’s best to read NextDoor pretending all the posts are made by dogs. ‘Hey, I heard a noise, what was that?’” It inspired a story here, but apparently it inspired my neighbors, too.

I checked my Nextdoor today, and found this hilarious thread. It went on for…

--

--

CJ Sterling

Writer, journalist. Commentary: Washington Post, Economist, Daily Beast, New York Times, Seattle Times, Crosscut, The Stranger. 22.5 million views, Quora.